Single Review: Dream State - 'In This Hell'

We have always been giant fans of post-hardcore band Dream State, and their new single 'In This Hell' is out now, and it is one of those songs that takes them from being that band a few people like, to a major big player on the alternative music scene.

Following on from previous single White Lies, it sees the band dramatically pushing the boundaries with their sound, getting louder and more attuned with their abilities as a unit. Its a phrase that gets thrown around a lot, but 'In This Hell' is the most mature track Dream State have released. Sometimes in order to be a big band, you have to grow up, and this band have certainly done that with this song.

It still contains all the parts we love about Dream State, those big guitar melodies and CJ's raw emotional vocals on every note she sings. But it is like a 'Holy Shit' button has been pushed, and turned themselves up by a million.

The track is about making changes within yourself, and that is it isn't easy, and for a band to make this move in their sound is a very bold move. But a fucking fantastic move if you ask us. This track is just the start for this band this year, with festival appearances at Download and The Great Escape Festival in the pipe line, we can see by the end of 2018 everyone knowing who Dream State are.

Words by Ant Adams

The band head out on tour this February, catch them here at the following dates:

08 GUILFORD Boileroom
09 SCUNTHORPE Cafe Indiependent
10 OXFORD Cellar
11 BIRMINGHAM Asylum 2
12 BRISTOL Exchange
14 MANCHESTER Star & Garter
15 STOKE Sugarmill
18 HULL Adelphi
19 YORK Basement
23 DERBY Hairy Dog
26 LONDON Assembly

Their single 'In This Hell' is out now