EP Review: The Young Hearts - 'Honestly, I’m Just Thinking'

With shuddering choruses played out like statements of intent, with beautiful instrumentals melded together, Kent alternative rock four-piece, The Young Hearts have truly hit a milestone with their new EP 'Honestly, I’m Just Thinking'.

The record blossoms as it races, as the hearts pulsate, as the music drags you out of your dark place.The undercurrents of emotion are there, bubbling and ready to come through. The lyrics are to die for, poetic and arresting, put together with attentiveness, written with a great understanding of this drastically troubled world. And it’s easy to fall into them, like a body cascading into a bundle of pillows.

This band are built up on workmanship and musicianship, it’s clearly seen. They also put their all into their muse, grafting and crafting resounding songs. The four tracks on the EP are mind-blowing, intelligent, magical, dark, and deeply poignant. And emotion can drag you through so much pain, it can hurt you, and it can alter your horizons and mind. But, the emotion developed on this EP, will keep you engrossed. And it starts with ‘'Bloom',  a song bursting with creativity and well-oiled guitar lines, poetic strands that have been meticulously placed. The track reflects a man who is tired of staring at the same page, he needs change, and he needs to be drip fed some optimism.

'Smoke' is brilliantly fast and volatile. The beating guitar progression is great. There’s a story-line too, a fable of surrender. The protagonist is torn and helpless. It’s a thundering contribution. ‘October’' is a slower, subtle swansong, beautifully constructed and paints a dark picture of an empty hallway, where a man sits to be told he is okay to go on. It’s about drugs and stinging bruises. The chorus is fundamental to the progression, it sticks it all together.

The Young Hearts are a talented band, emphatic in creating their own story. This EP is truly something to behold.

EP Review by Mark McConville 

'Honestly, I'm Just Thinking' is now available to pre-order on VINYL and DIGITAL DOWNLOAD.

Tour dates:
02 Aug - Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
03 Aug -Birmingham,Subside
04 Aug - Glasgow, The Hug And Pint 
05 Aug - Leeds, Temple Of Boom
06 Aug - London, Black Heart
30 Sep - Manchester, Deadbolt Festival
04 Oct - Southampton, The Brook 
05 Oct - Brighton, Sticky Mike’ Frog Bar
06 Oct - Coventry, Kasbah
07 Oct - Bridgwater, Cobblestones
08 Oct - London, Old Blue Last
28 Oct - Bournemouth, Blue Line Studios
09 Nov - Canterbury, The Ballroom
10 Nov - Luton, Harvey’s
11 Nov - Torquay, The Attic
12 Nov - Bristol, Crofters Rights
18 Nov - Ashford, The Attic